Honourable Union Minister, Meenakshi Lekhi just released our new book "India's Spiritual Heroines"

Vijnanabhairava or Divine Consciousness: A Treasury of 112 Types of yoga

by Jaideva Singh

  • ISBN Hardcover: 9788120808171, 8120808177
  • ISBN Paperback: 9788120808201, 8120808207
  • Year of Publication: 2014
  • Edition: 8th reprint
  • No. of Pages: 203
  • Language: Sanskrit & English
  • Sale price ₹ 625.00 Regular price ₹ 625.00

    Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout.

    Vijnanabhairava is a very ancient book on Yoga. It closely follows the basic principles of

    Saivagama. It contains 112 types of Yoga. There is hardly any other book on yoga which has described so many ways of approach to Central Reality that is present in each man as his essential Self. It is both extensive and intensive in the treatment of the subject of yoga.

    An English translation of this excellent work is being provided for the first time. The text that

    has been adopted is mainly the one that is published in the Kashmir Series of Texts and Studies. At a few places, however, slightly different readings yielding better sense have been

    incorporated as suggested by Swami Laksmana Joo.

    Each verse of the Sanskrit text has been printed in both Devanagari and Roman script. This is followed by an English translation and a number of expository notes which will go a long way in elucidating the main idea of the verse.

    A long Introduction explaining the basic principles of the yogas described in the text has been provided in the beginning. A glossary of technical terms has also been added at the end.

    The book has for the first time been translated into English. The translation of each verse is followd by copious expository notes, which contain not only all that is of any value in the Sanskrit commentaries, but also many practical suggestions made by Svami Lakshmana Joo on the basis of his personal experience of these Yogas.

    In order to understand the philosophical background of these Yogas, the reader is advised to go through the introductory portion of the author's Pratyabhijnahrdayam or the Siva-sutras.

    Customer Reviews

    Based on 1 review Write a review