Honourable Union Minister, Meenakshi Lekhi just released our new book "India's Spiritual Heroines"

Living with Siva: Hinduism's Contemporary Culture

by Satguru Sivaya Subramaniyaswami

  • ISBN: 9788120832640, 8120832647
  • Year of Publication: 2013
  • Binding: Hardcover
  • Edition: 1st
  • No. of Pages: 955
  • Language: English
  • Regular price ₹ 1,795.00

    Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout.

    365 daily lessons based on ancient Vedic laws, disclosing how to approach family, money, relationships, technology, food, worship, yoga and karma to live a truly spiritual life.

    The Master Course Trilogy

    You will find in this book the deepest truths and insights of Indian spirituality, some of it never published before, all of it relevant to your personal awakening on the path to merging with God. Drawn from fifty years of yogic realizations and sharing the Hindu mystical teachings with aspirants, Dancing with Siva is the first book of a remarkable trilogy called The Master Course. The trilogy is a detailed summary of astanga yoga also called raja yoga, which contains eight successive steps, each one dependent upon the one that precedes it. These eight steps are yama (restraint), niyama (observance), asana (posture), pranayama (breath control), pratyahara (sense withdrawal), dharana (concentration), dhyana (meditation) and samadhi (contemplation).

    The trilogy articulates in lucid terms why you must begin at the beginning, with a firm foundation of philosophical clarity and good character, and proceed from there. Dancing with Siva lays out the philosophical, Vedic-Agamic beliefs, attitudes and expectations of the Saivite Hindu religion.

    Living with Siva, the second book of the trilogy, explores Saivite lifestyle, culture, family life character-building and the overcoming of uncomplimentary habits. If focuses on yama, niyama and, in a lesser way, asana and pranayama (hatha yoga).

    Merging with Siva, the third book of the trilogy, encompasses steps five, six and seven, leading to eight-the deeper realizations, samadhis, yogic experiences and mystical encounters, such as the inner light and nada-nadi sakti-all of which we begin to experience once we learn to dance with Siva and live with Siva. Upon a solid foundation of understanding, the yogic and metaphysical experiences described in Merging with Siva come naturally and are sustainable.


    About the Author(s)