Honourable Union Minister, Meenakshi Lekhi just released our new book "India's Spiritual Heroines"

Dasakumaracarita of Dandian

by M. R. Kale

  • ISBN Hardcover: 9788120801714, 8120801717
  • ISBN Paperback: 9788120801721, 8120801725
  • Year of Publication: 2009
  • Edition: 10th Edition
  • No. of Pages: 520
  • Language: Sanskrit & English
  • Publisher: Motilal Banarsidass Publishing House
  • Sale price ₹ 795.00 Regular price ₹ 795.00

    Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout.

    The Dasa-kumara-carita or 'Adventures of the Ten Princes', contains stories of common life and reflects a faithful picture of Indian society during the period. The Dasakumaracarita consists of

    It consists of (1) Purvapithika, (2) Dasakumaracarita Proper, and (3) Uttarapithika. The Purvapithika consists of five Uchchhvasas of which the first one deals with the birth of the ten boys, the second with the Digvijaya of Rajavahana, the third with the adventures of Somadatta and his marriage with Princess Vamalocana, the fourth with the adventures of Puspodbhava and his wedlock with the adventures of Puspodbhava and his wedlock with Balacandrika and fifth with the marriage of Rajavahana with Avantisundari. The Dasakumaracarita proper consists of eight Uchchhvasas which deal with the adventures of (1) Rajavahana, (2) Apaharavaram, (3) Upaharavarman, (4) Arthapala, (5) Pramati, (6) Mitragupta, (7) Mantragupta, and (8) Visruta. The Uttarapithika which is a short chapter by way of supplement winds up the story which ends with the slaying of Manasara and the annexation of Malava to Puspapura and division of the empire into several principalities.

    The edition consists of variants, English translation, explanatory and critiical notes and an exhaustive introduction. It is designed to meet the requirements of the University students in all respects.