Ashtanga Yoga of Patanjali: Philosophy, Religion Culture, Ethos and Practices

by Prashant S. Iyengar

  • ISBN: 9788178224800, 8178224801
  • Year of Publication: 2016
  • Binding: Paperback
  • Edition: 1st
  • No. of Pages: 888
  • Language: English
  • Regular price ₹ 795.00

    Tax included.

    "Nothing is superior to Yog, Nothing is subtler than Yog,

    Nothing is more ennobling than Yog, Nothing is more

    sublimating than Yog and thus, Yog is supreme."

    Ashtanga Yog means "eight-limbed yog" according to Patanjali's system. These limbs are: Yama, Niyama, Asana, Pranayama, Prathyahara, Dharana, Dhyana and Samadhi.

    It is a rich fabric of human mind, psyche and conscience such as "Yog for one and for all". This book provides a deep knowledge of Ashtanga yog of Patanjali with philosophy and their practices. Both aspects are very important to reach the final destination. Without practice philosophy is just a theory and one can't obtain the higher yog. The spiritual seekers, who cannot adopt the Anushasana of Patanjali, They need to have a ladder to reach Patanjali's launch point of Yog.

    The Yogopanishads posit that Ashtanga Yog is fount-hole of all various yogs. Then there are different yogs in different levels. The first level is Ashtanga Yog. The second level is Mantra Yog of sixteen limbs. The third yog is Laya yog of nine limbs and the fourth yog is Hatha Yog of six limbs. These are graduations and not cults or schools. Classical yog was maintained intact until about late 18th century. Then yog was slowly being compromised and was opened out to greater mass of people.


    About the Author(s)

    Prashant S. Iyengar is the son of Yogacharya BKS Iyengar and an authority on Yoga. He is presently the director of Ramamani Iyengar Memorial Yoga Institute (RIMYI). His knowledge about the scriptures and the ancient texts makes learning yoga very interesting. He is also an accomplished violinist.